top of page

Practice: Using Bija Mantras to Heal the Chakras

“A mantra is mystical energy encased in a sound structure. Every mantra contains within its vibrations a certain power. Upon concentration and repetition of a given Mantra, its energy is elicited and takes form.”Swami Sivananda What is a Mantra? A vehicle through which we reach silence. It is a tool to draw our attention away from the ordinary preoccupations of the mind. Mantra also helps us elevate our mood and can bring us into the sense of wholeness within ourselves. In my last blog post, I explained what a mantra practice is and how it works. If you haven't read that post yet, you may want to do so here to give yourself a foundation before continuing on.. Now that you have that basic understanding of mantra, this week I wanted to dive into Bija Mantras more specifically, and how we can use them to begin to balance the energy in our bodies. So What is a Bija Mantra?

Bija means seed. Bija Mantras have no meaning. They are Pure Sound. Every mantra has a bija or seed. It is the self-generating power of the mantra; and from that seed, the full energy of the mantra is able to grow and bloom.

The Chakra Bija Mantras vibrate in the chakras and can release blockages, harmonize and heal these energy centers. In Sanskrit, chakra translates into “wheel” or “disk” and denotes a point of intersection where the mind and the body meet. They are wheel-like energy centers, vortexes of energy – a swirling intersection of forces. It is said that wisdom, physical health and well-being are all coded in the chakras.

I love this statement from Alice A. Bailey about the chakras and healing: “The new medical science will be outstandingly built upon the science of the chakra centers, and upon this knowledge all diagnosis and possible cure will be based.”

When we use Bija Mantras for the chakras, we can release blockages that may exist in these 7 energy centers along the spine, which allows Kundalini energy to flow more freely.

Working with ~ and learning to master ~ the energy of the 7 chakras along the spine allows us to transcend imbalances, raise our energy, heal ourselves of old patterns that are no longer serving us (these patterns can be lodged in the body, mind or a habitual behavior) and express the highest potentiality of each chakra and the self. Working on one chakra, will affect all of the chakras.

“From instinctual behavior to consciously planned strategies, from emotions to artistic creations, the chakras are the master programs that govern our life, loves, learning and illumination.” –Anodea Judith, Ph.D.

Bija Mantras for the 7 Chakras along the spine

Lam :: 1st chakra. Root. Muladhara.

Connecting us to the Earth Element. Bringing in the qualities of being grounded, inner stability and strength and feeling more safe in bodies.

Vam :: 2nd chakra. Sacral. Swadhisthana.

Connecting us to the Water Element. Bringing in the qualities of fluidity, nourishment and moisture.

Ram :: 3rd chakra. Solar Plexes. Manipura.

Connecting us to the Fire Element. Bringing in the qualities of fire, heat and transformation.

Yam :: 4th chakra. Anahata.

Heart Connecting us to the Air Element. Bringing in the qualities of dryness, light and an increase in speed, change and bringing us more deeply into the subtle

Ham :: 5th chakra. Visshuddha.

Throat Connecting us to the Ether Element. Bringing in the qualities of space, release, expansion, expressive and non-resistance.

Om :: 6th chakra. Agya.

Beyond the elements here. Om is the sound of everything and nothing. Bringing in oneness.

Om :: 7th chakra. Sahasrara.

Beyond the elements here. Om is the sound of everything and nothing. Bringing in oneness.

To learn how to use these Bija Mantras to heal the chakras, see my latest video below.

If you want to learn more about the Chakras, check out my Chakra course happening this May HERE!


bottom of page